el centro 1940 seismic response spectra

values, response spectra of El Centro earthquake (1940 05 18, comp. This predefined data is taken from J. Biggs’ Introduction to Structural Dynamics and is based on the north-south component of the May 18, 1940 El Centro California earthquake. Note the level in Figure 6 is somewhat higher that the corresponding VAFB level in Figure 2. Response Spectrum Characteristics We now study the important characteristic of response spectrum of earthquake ground motions. The corrected accelerograms of El Centro 1940 earthquake Shock Response Spectrum The amplification factor for the curve in Figure 6 is Q=10, which is equivalent to a damping ratio of 0.05. I am using excel. 3. earthquake (Clough 1962) or, based on the seismic history of an area, an acceleration spectrum envelope is developed for use in structural design. I am quite new to earthquake engineering and was hoping someone could help me out. 0 510 15 20 25 Time (s) 0.3 T = 3.0 s max 0.255 m Displacement Response Spectrum 0 0.3-0.3 0 03 T = 2.5 s 03 0 0.3-0.3 max 0.176 m T = 2.0 s max 0.274 m DISPLACEMENT SPECTRUM EL CENTRO RECORD – Response spectrum of an earthquake ver irreg larery irregular. 589-603, Warszawa 1987 Horizontal-vertical response spectra for El Centro 1940 earthquake I. I. ORABI (NEW HAVEN) and G. AHMADI (POTSDAM) A SINGLE-DEGREE-OF-FREEDOM structure subjected to horizontal and vertical earthquake ground accelerations is considered. The response spectrum for north-south component of El Centro ground motion for damping ratio = 0, 2, 5, and 10% is plotted together with the ground motion parameters ugo, u … … The Artificial earthquake record is defined by accelerograms which is compatible with a design spectrum and their response spectra will be equal to the target spectrum. I am looking at the El Centro 1940 quake and trying to plot the earthquakes response spectrum. Dr. Hazim Dwairi 1940 El Centro, 0.35 g, N1940 El Centro, 0.35 g, N--SS Dr. Hazim DwairiDr. Touijr